Inspiring Graphic Artists: NEVER GIVE UP

Thanks Andrew http://www.behance.net/ampersandrew  You made me realize even more that I gotta step my game up LOL. And it reminded me of the saying I heard some years ago “To get something you never had, you have to do something you never did”

These past couple of days, weeks actually, just looking at design blogs, post, work, and all that Good stuff, and looking at it, and overtime I get this grump/slump look on my face and say to myself WHAT THE HECK HAVE I BEEN DOING THE LAST 3 YEARS, ARRGGGHH!!!!!!

Its weird I have had such a great opportunity over the years to work on various design projects, ranging from web design, print, animation, all that great stuff, but its sooo weird because I feel that I haven’t yet found my place in this awesome dimension of the Design World, its like I haven’t found my niche, my identity, my style, what makes me in my art…or maybe I have but I don’t freakin know what it is, and I scream to myself like SOMEBODY PLEASE TELL ME…but I know thats not how it works, it can’t work that way, how will I ever succeed in my field?

So I just feel like…man I’ve done sooo much but yet haven’t done anything, I should know this stuff by now. But at the same time looking at these different artist I always become inspired and say WOW THEIR DOING IT, SO CAN I! I want to be just as good as them, I want to do some stuff like that! LOL

I watched this awesome video today about hand-painted signage today ,and something the owner of the company said something that stood out to me, something along the lines of If you find yourself looking at something and saying wow that was cool, how did they do that, or I’m going to look that up after, and really start indulging yourself in that craft, chances are your going to stick with it.

I realized that’s me! Though  I’ve gotten discouraged at times, frustrated, sad, upset, given up for a time, I find myself right back at it, because I don’t want to give up on this, I can’t, its what I do, its what I love, and I can’t ever go back, or move on unless, God, says its time for something else. I am going to do, and learn ALL that I can, until I finally self-identity, until I get to where I wanna be, aiming higher and higher.

So this is an encouragement to graphic artist, NEVER GIVE UP, like someone has told me “To get something you never had, you have to do something you never did” this means alot to me more now, then it did all those years ago when I heard it…. 😀

2 thoughts on “Inspiring Graphic Artists: NEVER GIVE UP

  1. ampersandrew says:

    Thanks for the mention. This was encouraging to be me believe it or not. I feel like I get caught up at times, looking at around seeing what everyone else is doing vs. just sitting down and creating on my own. Be encouraged to lock yourself in a room with no internet and just create.

    I’m going to ask to see what you’ve been working on in a month or so. Get busy. 🙂

  2. ampersandrew says:

    Thanks for the mention. This was encouraging to me believe it or not. I feel like I get caught up at times, looking at around seeing what everyone else is doing vs. just sitting down and creating on my own. Be encouraged to lock yourself in a room with no internet and just create.

    I’m going to ask to see what you’ve been working on in a month or so. Get busy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

