Winter is coming.

Random pre-winter thoughts…

Winter is coming…

Winter has a  calming effect, it feels like everything slows down, and no matter how fast you want to make things move, they don’t always…

I feel Winter forces you to look at your life from another perspective, it forces you to think more, make new goals, develop new aspirations….

Winter challenges you…

Winter can be therapeutic…

I feel winter opens your eyes to more things, you hear things you didn’t hear before….

Oddly, I imagine winters to be the best time for songwriters and authors, to lock themselves in a cabin in the middle of nowhere, sorting out all your emotions and thoughts, which then magically turns to words on papers, and then hit songs and best sellers…

But then because winter is calming, maybe it forces you to sort through decisions,  emotions and memories that you tried hiding all summer, and now you’re forced to face them..

I’ve lived in Michigan my whole life, where winters can be brutal, I never fail to complain how much I dislike winter every year, and though I want to cling onto  summer, and I long to live someplace else, to escape winter’s cold shoulder…

I think I would miss winter, if I didn’t have her anymore….

Me and winter have a love-hate relationship…

I saw the first snow flurries the other day, though winter decided to show us mercy by gracing us with 70 degree weather just the day before, but then biting us in the butt with a brutal 32 degrees the next day…

Oh the irony…

I woke up this morning, I felt slower, lazy, it took 2 cups of hot chocolate and warm apple cider to wake me, work seems slower too… I guess winter does that too…

So I embrace my frienemie with open arms, tighten my scarf, pull down my hat because….

Winter is coming…

 

Leave a Reply

